Vegans of Instagram

Your source for everything vegan on Instagram.
instagram.com/VegansofIG
Bone char is used to filter impurities in sugar and to strip away the brown color. It’s produced using the bones of cows. The bones are bleached in the sun and heated until they become a filter. “Brown sugar” is actually just white sugar that has had coloring and flavoring (molasses) added to it after it already had its natural brown coloring removed. Sugar producers like Domino Foods and C&H will often refer to Bone Char as “natural charcoal.”
Cane sugar is cured using bone char. Beet sugar isn’t. Unfortunately, most of sugar beets in the US and Canada are primarily GMO crop. The majority of commercial fructose on the market is derived from corn or beet source (both of which are fine). FYI: Some companies DO mix beet and cane together.Dextrose is derived from corn as well. Sucrose could be just about anything, so you’ll need to verify with the company. 
Beet, Unrefined, Turbinado, USDA Organic, and Raw are all phrases that let you know bone char was NOT used in your sugar. Same goes for organic cane juice. Agave Nectar, Xylitol (birch sugar), Coconut Palm Sugar, Stevia, Maple Syrup (lard-free), Brown Rice Syrup, Fruit Juice Concentrates, Date Sugar, and Fructose are all VEGAN alternatives to sugar. 
Many countries in Europe, as well as Australia and New Zealand, have banned the use of bone char in the refining process. However, if you purchase foods in any of these countries, it’s essential to make sure that the sugar they contain is actually manufactured locally. To make things even more confusing, not all sugar production plants use bone char. Supermarket brands of sugar (e.g., Giant, Townhouse, etc.) obtain their sugar from several different refineries, making it impossible to know whether it has been filtered with bone char. The sugar issue get’s really tricky when you have to factor in the sugar used in other confectionary products. Again, it all depends on which plant the sugar was obtained from. For those of you that avoid sugar, that’s one less thing to worry about. For anyone with with a sweet tooth, now you’re a savvy sugar shopper! #VegansofIG

Bone char is used to filter impurities in sugar and to strip away the brown color. It’s produced using the bones of cows. The bones are bleached in the sun and heated until they become a filter. “Brown sugar” is actually just white sugar that has had coloring and flavoring (molasses) added to it after it already had its natural brown coloring removed. Sugar producers like Domino Foods and C&H will often refer to Bone Char as “natural charcoal.”

Cane sugar is cured using bone char. Beet sugar isn’t. Unfortunately, most of sugar beets in the US and Canada are primarily GMO crop. The majority of commercial fructose on the market is derived from corn or beet source (both of which are fine). FYI: Some companies DO mix beet and cane together.Dextrose is derived from corn as well. Sucrose could be just about anything, so you’ll need to verify with the company.

Beet, Unrefined, Turbinado, USDA Organic, and Raw are all phrases that let you know bone char was NOT used in your sugar. Same goes for organic cane juice. Agave Nectar, Xylitol (birch sugar), Coconut Palm Sugar, Stevia, Maple Syrup (lard-free), Brown Rice Syrup, Fruit Juice Concentrates, Date Sugar, and Fructose are all VEGAN alternatives to sugar. 

Many countries in Europe, as well as Australia and New Zealand, have banned the use of bone char in the refining process. However, if you purchase foods in any of these countries, it’s essential to make sure that the sugar they contain is actually manufactured locally.

To make things even more confusing, not all sugar production plants use bone char. Supermarket brands of sugar (e.g., Giant, Townhouse, etc.) obtain their sugar from several different refineries, making it impossible to know whether it has been filtered with bone char. The sugar issue get’s really tricky when you have to factor in the sugar used in other confectionary products. Again, it all depends on which plant the sugar was obtained from. For those of you that avoid sugar, that’s one less thing to worry about. For anyone with with a sweet tooth, now you’re a savvy sugar shopper! #VegansofIG

  1. tttaaaooo reblogged this from vegansofig
  2. melaniee-jane reblogged this from vegansofig and added:
    So if i buy food that can be bought worldwide, but it says on the back made in Australia, that means that the sugar used...
  3. a-vegan-life reblogged this from vegansofig
  4. weedandpatchouli reblogged this from dejavutokeandpoke
  5. dejavutokeandpoke reblogged this from icouldseeabetterday
  6. icouldseeabetterday reblogged this from vegansofig
  7. vegantryingherbest reblogged this from veggiefitspiration
  8. madsteezystyle reblogged this from vegansofig
  9. veganposts reblogged this from vegansofig
  10. themarkstarr reblogged this from alternative-health
  11. sn0wliita reblogged this from fuckyeahveganlife
  12. veganresources reblogged this from alternative-health
  13. alavendervegan reblogged this from vegansofig
  14. proudlyvegan reblogged this from alternative-health
  15. alternative-health reblogged this from vegansofig
  16. tattooflashnshit reblogged this from veganuniversity
  17. helenlupton reblogged this from infinityman55
  18. against-average reblogged this from old-growth-holds-hope